Getting Started

I’m just getting started in the Billboard business and have a handful of questions that hopefully someone can help with.

1. Is it better to buy the land or lease land from a landowner? Yes, buying land requires more capital, but to me that is the
    more profitable and reliable option. When you lease you are at the mercy of the landowner AND you have to share your
    earnings. That doesn’t sound like an optimal investment. Am I missing something?

2. Assuming you want to go the route of buying land for the purpose of putting up your own billboard. Where do you even
    start? Is it best to just contact a realtor and tell them your zoning requirements and see what they come up with? I’m in
    Orlando and I was just reading the city code and it doesn’t even look like they allow new billboards to be constructed. Is
    every city different or is that a county thing? Is my only option in Orlando to buy and existing billboard?

3. I’ve seen a couple of billboards that I pass by daily that are completely empty. How do I find out who owns it? I don’t
    know if it is for sale or not. They are in very busy locations.

Ultimately, I’m having trouble getting started as you see. I have so many questions and find so few resources to answer
them. The industry seems so large and I have no idea how I’m going to be able to get my foot in the door. Every billboard
I see seems to be owned by either CBS or ClearChannel. How does a little fish compete with that? If I go to the outskirts
of the city is it going to be a worthy investment?

Looking forward to hearing other peoples thoughts.

Thanks,

Tony

Tony,