Flipping Leases

I am very new to the concept of the billboard business, but am interested in the flipping of leases and permits. I live in the San Antonio area and have a few questions.

1. Is the San Antonio and South Texas advertising market strong enough to support lease flipping?
  2. Would you recommend going outside the city limits at first, since there are a lot of billboards on rural roads in the area?
  3. How much land is needed to lease for the billboards?
  4. I researched some other billboard companies in the area that I am targeting and they are renting space for around $800/month. In this scenario, what would be a good sale price for the lease and permit?

I am planning on getting your home course, but was just trying to get an upfront vision of the possibilities before I spent the $350.

Any feedback you can give would be great. Thanks.

Damond,

San Antonio is certainly a strong market. South Texas is a pretty big geographic area – you’d have to be in an area with decent-sized population and traffic counts, not in the middle of nowhere. Traffic counts should be at least 20,000 to 30,000 cars per day.

If you take a compass and draw a circle about 4 hours out from the city you’re in – that’s your target market. In that circle will be probably 100 to 300 cities and towns with highway frontage. You will need to get the ordinances in all those towns and cities to see where you can build. You should not necessarily focus only on “unzoned” county land, as those often have harder requirements than within a city limit.

You only need about 9 square feet of groundspace for a monopole, however, that should be used only in discussion with the landowner. You should allow yourself a reasonably large area – including the sign’s overhang – in your lease exhibit. If you are building a 14’ x 48’, for example, I’d give yourself a rectangle about 20’ x 60’ on the ground.