Pump The Brakes!

This forum has been great!

Can we quickly cover the very basics, need to have my ducks in a row. I have two great potential locations I am eager to approach. Here is what I know!

Approach landowner, gain permission.

apply for permits

build sign

find advertisers

That all makes sense, but what are the steps before all this?

Do I need to apply for an LLC/sole proprietorship, become a legit business?
Go ahead and get liability insurance or wait until the sign is being built, before I ever approach any landowners?

I want to do first things first and try to refrain from back tracking to much.
I am brand new to this industry and am excited to get the ball rolling.

Can you please tell me what steps you took and why?

Thanks for any feedback!

I agree, I’m trying to start out also and am wondering if I need to file for the insurance now or wait?

I think you have to have a land agreement and get the permit before you can build but I don’t understand
how you can get the permit before building. How do they know what to judge? I hear getting the permits takes months.

Good luck and let me know how its going for you

Been in the business for quite a years. Faced all this while we opened up our business. For any kind of help, feel free to call us or visit our website: Advertising Solution in New York

Update: So I registered as an llc business with my state. Cost around $50.00 to become a legal business and I was able to do it online, took about 30 minutes. I then created a new business email address and ordered business cards with my company name and contact info.

Step 2: I am assuming I am ready to reach out to land owners. Aka: start mailing letters or door knocking. When I find a landowner who would like to do business I will then come to term agreements on our lease. after that I will have to get permits from state & city before any building can begin.